Reverb 10: December 3: Moment:

Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

I struggle with the single moment, but I most definitely feel most alive, most present, when I am creating. By creating, I mean any number of things: writing, cooking, crafting. The commonality is the demand on myself to focus and truly think about what I am doing. If I am writing, I feel and hear the keys clacking or pen scratching the surface of the paper (my personal favorite). I focus on the shapes of the letters forming my thoughts, and my head fills with the ebb and flow of the story as I tell it.

Cooking  creates a symphony of smells, changing textures, and the feel of the tools of the trade in my hand. I feel productive making my way through an onion, creating even little pieces. I love the warm, smooth texture of dough as my hands knead it into submission. The distinct fragrance of yeast doing its work. And there is nothing quite like a home filled with lovely cooking aromas.

Crafting lends itself to such tactile experiences. I love getting my hands dirty with paint, glue, maybe even a little glitter. I enjoy the instant gratification of a simple project. Even better, I enjoy crafting with the boys. I feel their excitement over the process and share their pride in their creations.

