Reverb 10: December 2 – Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

Seriously? Shouldn’t the question be what do I do each day that does contribute? That list would be significantly shorter.

I guess the thing I do that I could eliminate is talk or think about writing. If I put all of that time into actually writing, I would make some pretty good progress. I think what often prevents me from sitting down to the task is fear of not knowing what to write. The dreaded blank page, or screen. Usually once I start, I find the words come fairly easily. And editing is my strength, so once something–anything–is down on paper I can actually get to work.

But somehow the dishes, laundry, phone call, aimlessly browsing the internet. . . all seem to take precedence. I guess that probably has something to do with the lack of pressure behind those tasks. I mean, no one is going to check behind me to make sure I loaded the dishwasher just right. Okay, maybe Andy will, but that is a whole other issue.

Writing feels so permanent, and it feels like a real piece of me. There is a vulnerability evoked by putting thoughts to paper (or keyboard) that can be tough to overcome. But I am trying. And I will keep at it. At least until these prompts end December 31.

