So I had a little reunion yesterday with the Rush Oak Park Hematology/Oncology staff. Terri and Dr. Cobleigh declared me perfect. YEA! Not that I miss chemo, but I really enjoyed catching up with the nurses and staff. They were disappointed I didn’t bring a buddy this time, but I think they were still happy to see me.

I am going back at the end of the month because I didn’t build in enough time to get the Zometa. Although it is just a quick little 15 minute infusion, I overlooked the fact that they still have to get blood work from the lab (1 hour), then order the concoction from the pharmacy (another hour) before they can start the infusion. At that point I would have missed the school bus. So, they drew blood and flushed my port and now my next visit will only take about 1 1/2 hours. And I’ll bring a book. (As much as we love chatting, there are other patients there.)

In the meantime, I get to carry on with a (relatively speaking) clean bill of health.

